Story by Erica

Hi, my name is Erica.
I moved into my home nearly 3 years ago. Before that I lived at home with my Mum & Dad. I am very close to them. I have 2 sisters and a brother.

I can speak French & Hebrew – I used to enjoy going to Israel to stay with my Grandmother regularly but I do not go as often now. I also enjoy going to France to visit family.

Since moving in my life has changed so much. With support I now dress myself, do my personal care and I have taken on doing household chores which I enjoy. Although once I have had enough, I will go and sit down, sometimes my attention span is very short. I normally see my parents weekly unless they are away. I can get extremely anxious and staff support me with this using different techniques. One I really enjoy is having my hands massaged. In the nice weather I spend a lot of time on the swing in the garden. I enjoy watching DVD’s and listening to music. I also like having a story read to me.

With staff support I have been to Birmingham NEC to see the Lipizzaner horses (dancing horses from Vienna). I have been to Tinsel & Turkey in the Isle of Wight & Hunstanton. I go to Gateway Club every other Thursday; I sometimes join in with the activities but I do enjoy the dancing and music. They also have 2 parties each year which I go to, I also go to Parties twice a year. I dance all night long. I go to pantomimes and shows in King’s Lynn, Norwich, Cromer and Hunstanton. I have been to Butlins Skegness on holiday with my housemates and staff twice. I like swimming, bowling, cinema and I go the Thursford Christmas Spectacular every year.

I like to go to Norwich Castle, zoos, shopping, eating out and going for walks. I went on the Poppy Line Scary train last year. I have been to Bircham Mill and made bread, I have also painted ceramics.

We have had a summer party, Mad Hatter’s tea party and Royal Afternoon Tea Party for which I dressed as a Princess. All the tenants from other houses came as well.

My staff support me with my medication and managing my finances. They also take me to all my appointments and help organise outings.

My parents are very pleased at how I have settled into my new home and the different things I have achieved since moving in.